Register to Vote
Register to Vote
To register to vote, you must be all of the following:
- A U.S. citizen
- At least 18 years old by Election Day
- A resident of Michigan
- A resident of the city or township where you are applying to register to vote
If you want to check to see if you are registered, visit www.Michigan.gov/vote. There you will find information about registering to vote, voting, voting equipment, polling place locations, state and local ballots, the candidates, campaign finance, and more. Your local clerk can help with questions about your voter registration, polling place location, and working at the polls.
In the state of Michigan, you may now register to vote up to and including the day of the election. If you register within 14 days of the election or on election day, you must register directly with the City Clerk. You may no longer register online or by mail.
You may obtain the application here.
Michigan law states that the same address must be used for voter registration and driver's license purposes. That means, if the residence address you provide on the application differs from the address shown on a driver's license or personal identification card issued by the state of Michigan, the Secretary of State will automatically change your driver's license or personal ID card address to match the residence address entered on this form. If a change is made, the Secretary of State will mail you an address update sticker for your driver's license or personal ID card.
If you are living outside the U.S., you may send a Federal Postcard Application to register to vote. This application is distributed through U.S. embassies and military bases. It also serves as a way to request an absentee ballot.
If you hand-deliver your application, the staff person helping you will take your form and you don't need to do anything else.
If you have never registered to vote in Michigan and choose to mail in your application, you will need to meet an identification requirement. This means you must:
- Enter your driver's license number or personal identification card number where requested on the form. OR
- Send a copy of ONE of the following forms of identification with your application:
- A photocopy of your driver's license or personal ID card, or
- A photocopy of a paycheck stub, utility bill, bank document or government document that lists both your name and your address.
NEVER SEND AN ORIGINAL DOCUMENT!
If you have never voted in Michigan and choose to submit the form by mail or through a third party, such as at a voter registration drive, you must appear in person to vote in the first election in which you wish to participate. This requirement does not apply if (1) you personally hand-deliver the form to your county, city, or township clerk's office instead of mailing the form (2) you are 60 years of age or more (3) you are disabled or (4) you are eligible to vote under the Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act.
The City Clerk will send you a voter registration card upon processing your application. Keep it in your wallet or purse so you know where to go to cast your ballot.
For directions and a map to your polling place click here.
When you go to the polls on Election Day, you will be asked to present voter identification. If you don't have an acceptable photo ID, you can vote by signing an affidavit. The affidavit can be used by 1) voters who don't have acceptable photo ID or 2) voters who have photo ID - but didn't bring it to the polls.
Acceptable photo ID includes:
- Michigan driver's license
- Michigan personal identification card
- Driver's license or personal identification card issued by another state
- Federal or state government-issued photo identification
- U.S. passport
- Military identification card with photo
- Student identification with photo from a high school or an accredited institution of higher education, such as a college or university
- Tribal identification card with photo.
If you do not have a driver's license or other acceptable photo identification, you can get a state identification card at your local Secretary of State branch office for $10. State ID cards are free to individuals who are 65 or older or blind or who have had driving privileges terminated due to a physical or mental condition. The fee can also be waived for individuals who present other good cause for a fee waiver. Proof of identity and residency are required when applying for a state ID card.