Historic District Commission

evart city hall

The Historic District Commission (HDC) was established under the authority of Michigan Public Act 169 and is comprised of five volunteers appointed to three-year terms by the Evart City Council. The HDC must include a graduate of an accredited school of architecture with two years of experience or an architect who is registered in this state. All members must demonstrate an interest in and knowledge of historic preservation and historic building styles and must be residents of Evart.

The City of Evart is proposing the designation of the Depot at 200 S. Main Street as the city’s first historic district.  The establishment of any Historic District allows property owners with contributing properties the opportunity to apply for tax credits.

 In order to preserve the architecture, character, and historical significance of structures in the City of Evart, other areas may at some point be proposed as historic districts.  

The Historic District Commission meets quarterly.  Please join us for our next one!
More information is available here. 

View Historic District Commission Meeting minutes here

Current Commissioners:
  • Diane Carlson
  • Roger Elkins
  • Kathy Fiebig
  • Karen Higgins
  • Jennifer Joyce


Volunteer Opportunity 
call-for-volunteers-headerThe City of Evart continues to seek a City resident who is an archaeologist, architect, architectural historian, historian or historic architect to serve on the Historic District Commission. Commission members are unpaid volunteers, but the rewards are priceless. This is not a high time commitment, yet it is an integral part of our ongoing historic preservation efforts. Please send a resume with a letter of interest to Pepper Lockhart, City Manager at or mail to:
                        City of Evart
                         200 S. Main Street
                         Evart, MI 49632

Standard Operating Procedures for the City of Evart's Boards and Commissions

Boards, Committees, & Commissions Application (PDF)

Boards, Committees, & Commissions Application (online form)